Restrict who can delete tasks/buckets
Dear Microsoft folks,
I would like to recommend
(1) restricting who has the ability to delete tasks (or perhaps allowing/approving individuals to delete tasks)
(2) add an additional prompt to confirm if the user would like for a task to be deleted
(3) give the option to recover a deleted item after X number of days
(4) provide a notification to the "creator" of the deleted task that it has indeed been deleted
(5) add the ability to print these records (or export to Excel to where it could be modified and then printed out)
We would like to use this tool as a to do list for work order repairs with our maintenance department. However, our records (including repairs) are audited every year, closely inspected are scrutinized.
In the event that we have a disgruntled employee/user, they could currently delete any/all records which will raise questions with outside agencies if we have done what has been deleted. These agencies are heavy on documentation, so a lack thereof will result in fines.
Also, if one of our users accidentally deletes a record, we are in the same situation as above.
If this feature were available (and the ability to print a summary of all records), I would feel much more comfortable embracing this & committing to more Office 365 licenses (wink wink nudge nudge)
Thank you for your consideration!
IT Admin PSPBAOA commented
It's a major flaw that any member of a group can delete a Planner task & Bucket, with no notifications, no audit trail and no way of recovering the deleted tasks or Buckets.
Recently one of the Bucket got deleted and I don't have any clue how and who did that. There is no audit trail.
This is a major risk in adopting MS Planner. What if after 1 year, any member deletes the bucket and you are lose with all your 1 year data records.
I think the delete of Buckets/Tasks should be restricted with Creator/Admin. This is very important from security perspective.
Abu Ismail commented
This is a very desirable business requirement!
It's a fundamental flaw that any member of a group can delete a Planner task, with no notifications, no audit trail and no way of recovering the deleted task. It's a shame, because in many other ways Planner is great.
This would be extremely helpful & would certainly increase the usability (especially from a confidence level) of Planner. This would be like "guard rails" on a road. Most of us don't need them, but they aren't intended for the general user. They are intended for the those out there who aren't paying attention (sometimes commonly referred to as "idiots").
Please take this request into consideration. Thank you!
Matt Moore commented
At least make a connector to Automate so you can make a rule that notifies you if Task is deleted.
Munassir TK commented
this is very much needed
Pablo Mariano commented
This is so basic. If anyone can delete a task, planner is useless
just checked - in fact about 14 comments identifying the same potential project crippling flaw in Planner
MS moderator for the User Voice needs to triage the comments as this issue is repeated under different titles quite a few times in this forum. All the votes need to be totaled under a single specific comment title.
There are some really choice comments across the forum, and also people not venturing to use Planner due to concerns about their data security.
In the situation we are working with here - we are having to use Planner as it gives 80% of the functions that we need. But we are quite frankly petrified that we will lose potentially 1000's of tasks across a suite of plans - as there is no back up and anyone can accidently delete a lot of information accidently - let alone maliciously.
So here we, are 3 years later, and looks like the weakness has not been addressed
[Deleted User] commented
I was unable to convince my boss because of this.
How ridiculous to even vote for this feature. This is so basic...
Microsoft, you should be ashamed!
in a defined Planner, we need to prevent user's from changing the labels and bucket names at their will. How can we block that?
Belal Daboul commented
planner is useless without this!
Blake Stroud commented
Please allow us to either restrict deletion of tasks or get a notification if it is deleted (as an owner of the team).
Sathish Desai commented
Recovery of deleted bucket, task or plan to be made possible also
Petra Guthmann commented
I can not believe this is not there ...
I'd also like to see a deleted plan being restored and security around who can delete a plan. We had a knucklehead who deleted ours and costed us days work.
i can not believe this is not there.....this app is not new, since it has zero security we will deploy another product. This seems to be a common issue with microsoft, security last.
Есть ли информация когда появится запрет на удаление задач в планере?