As I saw that when you delete a Plan all conversations, Groups etc are deleted could be useful to have another Status for that Plans, maybe an "Archived" status, maybe visible in another dashboard or something similar.
We’d love to hear more about the following:
1. When would you delete or archive a plan?
2. How long would you like it to be accessible?
Feel free to include any specific scenarios where archiving a plan would be useful.
We appreciate your feedback and look forward to reading through your comments!
The Planner Team
Tristan Ullstrom commented
It would be incredibly helpful to be able to archive the entire plan. It would clear our plans up a lot and I am sure it would load much quicker because it takes forever to load the plans right now. Being able to keep the archive plans for several years before being permanently removed or even just keeping them until the user removes the archived file. We usually start a plan and it lasts 4 months to some times a year and a half sometimes 2 years. We need to reference these old archived plans years later some times, but it is such a headache having so many plans all in one section without being able to move them to an achieve section.
Shiann Weiss commented
I don't want to archive my entire plan. I would like to archive tasks in my plan. I have built a request management system using excel, forms, planner, teams and flow - using power bi for analytics. while not impossible, it would be a lot to remove or "archive" the existing plan and plug in a new plan. Therefore, I was hoping that I could do something like move tasks from 2019 to an archive plan either with flow or a bulk transfer or something. That would be very helpful. The issue I'm facing now is that I've hit the assignment threshold for one of my executors on the request management system and they are no longer getting requests assigned to them. they do get an email notification through flow so at least they are still notified. While I have the export of the plan using the api with most of the details, if I delete the tasks, we lose the attachments, comments, and checklists. That's why archiving over deleting is preferred.
Steven Spires commented
Definitely need this functionality, plans become messy with old completed buckets. Like Shane H said, is this feature going to happen anytime soon>
Shane H commented
There appears to be plenty of "Tell Us More" feedback here since March 2, 2018. Is this feature going to be implemented in 2020?
Jan Mikkelsen commented
Please have the abbility to archive a plan indefinitely when the project is finalized. Often we need to retain the information for reference. But don't want it cluttering our current workspace.
Plan would need to be deleted if created by mistake.
I would like it to be accessible indefinitely. We plan an annual conference, and I would love to archive last year's plan (which is no longer in use) but also able to refer back to it to see my list of tasks from last year. Thanks for listening!
Please add the option to archive a plan rather than delete it. Often we need to retain the information for reference material (or compliance audits); however, we don't want it cluttering our current workspace. Thank you!
1. Whenever. Sometimes a plan might be mostly done, or a project changes or stops midway. It would be great if the project leader could choose to pause and/or then archive the plan.
2. Either user/tenant defined duration, or indefinitely.
It would be the most helpful when a specific project is done and no longer needed on regular basis, but all the content created still needs to be retained.
Archiving a plan would be very helpful when a plan has had movement but the timeline or scope has changed drastically and is no needed now, but might be later.
Our scenario involves tracking team tasks over a year, Team Planner 2019, for example. In the new year, we copy all tasks, notes, assignments to Team Planner 2020 minus completed tasks. Currently, if a team member looks at their My Tasks area, they will see duplicates. We would love to mark a plan as archived where Team Planner 2019 becomes read only and the archived plan's tasks do not show up in the My Tasks area.
This would be very useful for event planning. Once an event has finished ti would be good to be able to close or archive it. Deleting isn't appropriate as we may want to go back and check what tasks were completed when and who they were assigned to.
We would like to remove the Planner from the Teams tab and archive
Sarah Craig commented
We often start plans but then have to focus on other plans due to changing priorities. However, we don't want to delete the plans we are not currently working on entirely, as we will likely come back to it in the future. Keeping it in the Plan Hub gets way to cluttered, so we would like to an option that archives or saves the plan for later.
We would love to use plans for long-term projects that occur across departments. Right now we use it per-department.
Once we complete the project, we would like to be able to archive it so it isn't clogging up our dashboards. But also, it would be nice to be able to export the whole plan somehow to see all the data such as comments, deadlines, files, due dates (and actual completed dates). Perhaps a way to export and see it all, even if you weren't assigned to the plan/team originally.
We would like to use Planner to manage projects in our small in-house marketing team but the inability to archive completed plans is a major issue for us. We would make a plan for each job that comes in and would archive the plan when the job is complete. Our team averages around 150 projects per year. Often these are for annual events or updating a previous job so being able to access archived plans is essential.
Ideally, archived plans would be available indefinitely. It would also be helpful to link to a previous plan ie a manager referencing an archived plan could include a link to it as part of an initial brief.
+1 for feature delete or archive.
Thomas Curtis commented
1. Deletion would only occur if the project was not officially sanctioned or was tied to a non-business essential activity, i.e., holiday party plan. We would archive all planners related to projects or mandatory business activities.
2. Ideally, planners would be converted to a read-only file and stored within a sharepoint so they are out of the way of the execution teams but are available in the event of questions or issues at a later time. Once converted to a document type file they would fall into our standard document retention process.
Jonda Shay commented
1. Delete as needed. Archive within 4 months or less of plan completion.
2. Available 1-2 years from close archive date.
Alexander Nuutinen commented
Although the 'Tell Us More' was way back in March 2018, here's my 2c:
1) I'd archive a plan after it's been completed, at the start of the month/at a set review period, so that it could be added to the list of success shares for my team, for reporting up the chain to senior management. This would allow us to show what work we've completed and also keep what's displayed to us in Planner relevant to the current time period; it would also help sorting through the list of cards from 'last month' to 'last year', for example. Any rolling up/reporting of these numbers would be great.
2) Ideally I'd think 1 year, or just over 1 year, so that at some point we can look back and create a tally of just how much we've accomplished. There'd be no need to keep it for legal purposes, but we do get requests from time to time by senior and executive management on how busy we've been and to prove it (how many things have you done/how many features have you implemented/etc. etc.)
This would be great to have, and might actually be the (or close to the) tipping point for Planner to start outweighing Trello for usefulness, particularly for its availability within O365.
Alesha Bergeron commented
Any options available would be acceptable. I just began using Planner one month ago. I would like to delete 4-5 plans right now. I hold back on creating plans just because I'll never be able to archive them. Maybe one year of accessibility
Perhaps having a date range on completed tasks in the filter could be useful. Eg. you could say i want to see all completed tasks between 1 July and 31 Dec 18 and that way you can see how much work in a particular project was done in that time more easily.