As I saw that when you delete a Plan all conversations, Groups etc are deleted could be useful to have another Status for that Plans, maybe an "Archived" status, maybe visible in another dashboard or something similar.
We’d love to hear more about the following:
1. When would you delete or archive a plan?
2. How long would you like it to be accessible?
Feel free to include any specific scenarios where archiving a plan would be useful.
We appreciate your feedback and look forward to reading through your comments!
The Planner Team
Carlos de la roche commented
Move Plan to Sharepoint site for archived
This is very important for corporate environments. Lacking an archive option is a huge barrier to adoption in my field.
Planner is really starting to look clogged up due to the inability to archive plans...makes planning difficult
It must be mandatory that archiving comes bevor deleting!
Especially if having diverse project teams with liquid workforce it would be of great help to archive complete projects to keep track record and be compliant with legal requirements. User management to roll of people but be able to review documentation by third party (e.g. legal) should be integrated.
Upon completion of a project it would be nice to have a method to archive projects.
An archive option would be great for keeping track of past plans and using them to inform future plans.
Yes, a thousand times this! We have dozens of projects that we work on that we sometimes need to refer to (or revisit) later on. Archiving them would allow us to keep those plans intact but not have literally hundreds of plans in our plan view.
We need this, I have too many plans but cannot lose the historical data.
Total agree. It is too easy to delete. It should only be aloud by owners.
This is a must before we could use it. If people are attaching files to a project for example we need a way to go back and get them. Archiving completed plans would be ideal.
Giovani Suarez commented
I agree with Michiel!!!
James Ward commented
Oh, and voted
James Ward commented
Yup, yet another thing that prevents me rolling this out beyond using it for my own management of projects. NEVER allow users to permanently delete stuff! NEVER!
- Archive Plan by default
- Delete after fair warning (with grace period, only by owner)
- Archive buckets/tiles by default
- Delete only if allowed by owner's setting (and off by default)
Jacques Sauve commented
Agree that it would be nice to have an "Archive", "Completed" or "Inactive" status that would hide Plans/Groups that are in that status, unless and option is selected, something like "Show all plans/groups"
Great idea. This would serve the needs of other users who have posted here how it would be nice to delete plans so they aren't in the way. If completed or otherwise shelved plans could be shunted off to some area where they could be viewed in the future but not get in the way, that would be very helpful. I regularly go back to completed projects in Basecamp to recall decision points, locate files, etc.
Michiel van den Broek commented
I think SharePoint Teamsites are configurable to automatically be closed/archived and I also believe there are options to archive and after a period of time (required by IRS) permanently delete documents.
So I agree that Groups and Plans should not be deleted, but closed (or marked as complete). Closing a Plan should archive it or showing it in another list. So my list of Groups/plans are of active ones.
Trevor de Vries commented
Somebody in my organization thought they would tidy up their Plan screen - they deleted a bucket that they didn't want to see, and now 20 out of 21 of the cards are forever gone. The system should only let people archive not delete, unless they are administrators (and with ample warning)
Julian Knight commented
As Planner is an extension of groups, there could be significant collateral in the group when a plan is completed.
In order to avoid loosing corporate history, it is important that we have a capability to archive plans/groups.
These archives would not need to be stored in SharePoint/Exchange Online. Indeed, it would probably be much better to have a form that would allow the files along with configuration to be dumped out.
Of course, these would also need to be reloadable too. Though I would expect that this would rarely happen since the most common need would be to access a file rather than the whole thing, that could be done wherever the archive was kept (e.g. Azure blob storage).